top of page

EYFS Reform Information

What is the EYFS?

The EYFS is the statutory Early Years curriculum. This is mandatory for all schools, settings and childminders to follow from birth up to the end of the reception. The EYFS sets out our legal obligations regarding things like an adult: child ratios, suitable people, safeguarding and welfare, staff qualifications, and learning and development.

How are the Educational Programmes in EYFS broken down? 

These are divided into 7 areas of learning. The ‘Prime’ areas form the basis for all learning, and the ‘Specific’ areas build on those skills and broaden children’s understanding, experiences and knowledge. In the nursery, we always focus on the Prime areas in the first instance as they really do form the foundation for everything else.

The 'Prime Areas' include

1. Personal, Social, Emotional Development 

2. Communication and Language 

3. Physical Development 

The 'Specific Areas' include 

1. Literacy 

2. Mathematics 

3. Understanding the World 

4. Expressive Arts and Design

Early years foundation stage (EYFS) statutory framework 

For additional information regarding EYFS, please use the Government website 

bottom of page